Friday,March 8, 20191:30 p.m.
(Complet)
Friday,March 8, 20193:30 p.m.
Saturday,March 9, 201911 a.m.
Saturday,March 9, 20191:30 p.m.

OBORO
4001 Berri, Studio 1
Montréal (Québec) H2L 4H2
Phone: 514-844-3250
See the map

Kyla Gilbert and Tyson Houseman (Canada)

Adult and teen audience, 13 years +

A: $28 R: $25 

Buy tickets online
OR at the Theatre Outremont Box Office

A: Adults (13 years +) | E: Children (12 and under) | R: Discount * | G: Groups (10 + people)
* Students, seniors 65 years +, AQM members or purchasers of three or more tickets.
Taxes and ticket processing fee included.
Tickets at discount price purchased online or over the phone will be available at the venue before the show. Valid photo ID required.

Without words

KĀHKĀKIW is a contemporary dance piece with characters drawn from Cree stories. The Raven (kāhkākiw) character from the title avoids the mantle of colonial epistemological frameworks with his deft, evasive dance. Materials for the bunraku-inspired puppets include soil and sawdust from the streets of Montréal, sand from local parks, wood from dead trees, fabric from the artist’s old clothing and homemade glues.

Running Time: 40 minutes
Techniques:  Video, Dance and Bunkaru-Inspired Puppets

PHOTOS

THE COMPANY

Tyson Houseman is a Cree actor, artist, puppeteer, and stilt walker. He currently spends his winters in Montréal creating politically engaged performance works based on his aboriginal heritage, and his summers are spent working with the Bread and Puppet Theater Company on their beautiful farm in Glover, Vermont.

Kyla Gilbert is a puppeteer and a performer with a background in environmental biology. She is interested in exploring the movements and interplay of humans and objects. She is currently studying sculpture at NSCAD University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Gilbert and Houseman have performed together for years in the underground and political theatre circuit in Eastern North America and on world tour with DJ Kid Koala. Both earned BFAs from Concordia University.

Jamie Ross is an artist, pagan chaplain and early childhood educator. Creating and documenting queer communities is fundamental to his creative practice, a practice rooted in a sincere engagement with magic and that is interconnected with the rich artistic traditions of his ancestors – both cultural and biological. He has been active in artist-run culture for years as a programmer, an organizer and as an artist.

CREDITS

Creators and Performers: Tyson Houseman and Kyla Gilbert
Composer and Sound Designer: Devon Bate
Curator: Jamie Ross

A talk-back with the artists will be held after the 1:30 p.m. performance on March 8.

vendredi8 mars 201913 h 30
(Complet)
vendredi8 mars 201915 h 30
samedi9 mars 201911 h
samedi9 mars 201913 h 30

OBORO
4001 Berri, Studio 1
Montréal (Québec) H2L 4H2
Téléphone: 514-844-3250
Voir la carte

Kyla Gilbert et Tyson Houseman (Canada)

Pour adultes et adolescents, à partir de 13 ans

A: 28 $  R: 25 $  

Achetez les billets en ligne
OU à la billetterie du Théâtre Outremont

A: Adultes (13 ans +) | E: Enfants (12 ans et moins) | R: Rabais * | G: Groupes (10 + personnes)
* Membres AQM, étudiants, aînés 65 ans et +, acheteurs de trois billets de spectacles différents ou plus.
Taxes et frais de billetterie inclus
Les clients qui auront acheté en ligne ou par téléphone des billets au tarif réduction devront présenter une carte d’identité avec photo à l'entrée de la salle de spectacle.

Spectacle sans paroles

KĀHKĀKIW est une performance contemporaine dans laquelle évoluent des personnages tirés de contes cris. Les pas de danse agiles et évasifs du personnage du corbeau (kāhkākiw) évoqué dans le titre lui permettent de s’échapper à l’étau des cadres épistémologiques coloniaux. Les matériaux des marionnettes d’inspiration bunraku sont variés : terreau et sciure trouvés dans les rues de Montréal, sable glané dans les parcs de la ville, bois d’arbres morts, tissus récupérés des vieux vêtements de l’artiste et colles faites maison.

Durée : 40 minutes
Techniques : vidéo, danse et marionnettes d’inspiration bunraku

PHOTOS

PHOTO : Courtoisie artistes

LA COMPAGNIE

Tyson Houseman est un acteur, artiste, marionnettiste et échassier cri. Il passe ses hivers à Montréal à créer des œuvres politiquement engagées fondées sur son héritage autochtone. L’été, il travaille avec la compagnie Bread and Puppet Theater dans leur magnifique ferme à Glover, au Vermont.

Kyla Gilbert est marionnettiste et interprète. Elle a aussi une formation en biologie environnementale. Elle cherche à explorer les mouvements et les interactions entre les humains et les objets. Elle étudie actuellement la sculpture à l’université NSCAD à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Ensemble, Gilbert et Houseman présentent leurs œuvres depuis plusieurs années dans le underground de théâtre politique de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord et jouent en tournée mondiale avec DJ Kid Koala. Les deux sont titulaires d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia.

Jamie Ross est artiste, aumônier païen et éducateur de la petite enfance. La documentation des communautés queer est au cœur de son travail artistique. Sa pratique s’ancre dans un engagement sincère avec la magie et se rattache aux riches traditions artistiques de ses ancêtres culturels ainsi que biologiques. Il est actif depuis de nombreuses années au sein du milieu artistique autogéré, tant dans l’administration et la programmation que comme artiste.

CRÉDITS

Créateurs et interprètes : Tyson Houseman and Kyla Gilbert
Musique et environnement sonore : Devon Bate
Commissaire : Jamie Ross

Une rencontre avec les artistes aura lieu après la représentation du vendredi 8 mars à 13 h 30.