Date(s)

Thursday,March 7, 20247 p.m.
Friday,March 8, 20247 p.m.

Venue(s)

Théâtre Aux Écuries
7285 Chabot Street
Montréal (Québec) H2E 2K7
Phone: 514-328-7437
SEE MAP

Tickets


INCLUSIVE TICKET PRICING

SOLIDARITY Ticket — $40
I want to support inclusive ticket pricing and make it possible for others to benefit from lower prices.

REGULAR Ticket — $30
I want to support Casteliers and I’m happy to pay the actual ticket price.

REDUCED Ticket — $25
I have a tight budget for cultural activities, but I don’t want to miss out on anything.

ACCESSIBLE Ticket — $20
My income is very low and I can seldom afford cultural activities.

Adult and teen audience, 13 years +

 

Lunch with Sonia offers a theatrical experience at the crossroads of dance, puppetry, music, and video. Inspired by the true story of company founder Federico Restrepo, Lunch with Sonia recounts the artist’s relationship with his aunt, who has decided to end her life with dignity at the age of 72, after a long illness. While preparing a traditional dish, family and friends organize a last party for a serene and loving Sonia, surrounding her with affection and a courage to match her own. Emotional conversations raise controversial issues; themes of life, love, and loss run through this tender work.

 



An achingly beautiful entry in La MaMa’s biannual Puppet Festival . . . made me feel intensely grateful that La MaMa is once again lending its stages to live performance that is strange, daring, gorgeous and far from the mainstream.
Laura Collins-Hughes, The New York Times

 

Running time: 55 minutes
Techniques: Puppettry and dance

 

Thursday, March 7 at 7 p.m. – in English with French surtitles

Performance followed by a talkback with the artists (French and English).

 

Friday, March 8 at 7 p.m. – in Spanish with French surtitles

Performance followed by a talkback with the artists (Spanish, French and English).

 

 


 

Video

 

Photos

Company

Loco7 Dance Puppet Theatre Company was founded by Colombian-born artist Federico Restrepo in 1985. Based at La MaMa in New York, the company is dedicated to the development and promotion of works that combine dance, theatre, puppetry, the visual arts, music, and other forms of artistic expression. The aim of Loco7 is always to transcend cultural barriers and to provoke an emotional reaction that goes beyond specific contexts. With its works, the company seeks to connect with audiences from different places and backgrounds, offering a reflection on political and social issues common to people all over the world, from a perspective that is both personal and universal.

 


 

Credits

Stage direction, story, and performance: Federico Restrepo and Denise Greber

Set design and puppets: Federico Restrepo

Music: Leonie Bell

Lighting: Federico Restrepo and Juan Merchan

Featuring: Marina Celander, Aaron Haskell, Hope Kroog, Monica Lerch, Jorge Ariel Blanco Muñoz, and Federico Restrepo

Voice of Sonia: Luz Beatriz Pizano

 


 

The show you had in mind is sold out? Try your luck at the door! Arrive early. If reserved tickets are cancelled at the last minute, we will gladly to put them up for sale. Credit card and Interac transfers only. No cash payments.

Date(s)

jeudi7 mars 202419 h
vendredi8 mars 202419 h

Lieu(x)

Théâtre Aux Écuries
7285 rue Chabot
Montréal (Québec) H2E 2K7
Téléphone : 514 328-7437
VOIR CARTE

Billetterie


TARIFICATION INCLUSIVE

Tarif SOLIDAIRE — 40 $
Je souhaite soutenir la tarification inclusive et permettre à d'autres personnes de profiter de tarifs moindres.

Tarif RÉGULIER — 30 $
Je souhaite soutenir Casteliers et suis en mesure de payer le prix réel d’un billet.
 
Tarif RÉDUIT — 25 $
J’ai un budget limité pour les activités culturelles, mais ne veux rien manquer.
 
Tarif ACCESSIBLE — 20 $
J’ai un faible revenu et peux rarement m’offrir des sorties culturelles.

Adultes et ados, à partir de 13 ans

 

Lunch avec Sonia nous offre une expérience théâtrale à la croisée de la danse, de la marionnette, de la musique et de la vidéo. Inspirée de l’histoire vécue du fondateur de la compagnie Federico Restrepo, Lunch avec Sonia raconte la relation de l’artiste avec sa tante qui a décidé de finir sa vie dignement à 72 ans, après une longue maladie. En même temps qu’on prépare un mets traditionnel, famille et ami.e.s s’affairent à organiser la dernière fête de Sonia, sereine et aimante, et à l’entourer d’affection avec un même courage que le sien. Les conversations chargées d’émotion soulèvent alors des questions controversées ; les thèmes de la vie, de l’amour et de la perte parcourent cette œuvre tendre.

 



An achingly beautiful entry in La MaMa’s biannual Puppet Festival . . . made me feel intensely grateful that La MaMa is once again lending its stages to live performance that is strange, daring, gorgeous and far from the mainstream.
Laura Collins-Hughes, The New York Times

 

Durée : 55 minutes
Techniques : Marionnette et danse

 

Jeudi 7 mars, 19 h – présenté en anglais avec des surtitres en français

Représentation suivie d’une discussion en bord de scène avec les artistes (français et anglais).

 

Vendredi 8 mars, 19 h – présenté en espagnol avec des surtitres en français

Représentation suivie d’une discussion en bord de scène avec les artistes (espagnol, français et anglais).

 


 

Vidéo

 

Photos

Compagnie

Loco7 Dance Puppet Theatre Company a été fondée par l’artiste d’origine colombienne Federico Restrepo en 1985. Basée à La MaMa à New York, la compagnie se consacre au développement et à la promotion de créations intégrant la danse, le théâtre, les marionnettes, les arts visuels, la musique et d’autres formes d’expression artistique. Chez Loco7, l’objectif est toujours de transcender les barrières culturelles et de provoquer une réaction émotionnelle qui dépasse les contextes spécifiques. Avec ses œuvres, la compagnie cherche à entrer en contact avec un public issu de lieux et de milieux différents, en proposant une réflexion sur des problèmes politiques et sociaux communs aux peuples du monde entier, dans une perspective à la fois intime et universelle.

 


 

Crédits

Mise en scène, texte et interprétation : Federico Restrepo et Denise Greber
Scénographie et marionnettes : Federico Restrepo
Musique : Leonie Bell
Éclairage : Federico Restrepo et Juan Merchan
Avec : Marina Celander, Aaron Haskell, Hope Kroog, Monica Lerch, Jorge Ariel Blanco Muñoz, and Federico Restrepo
Voix de Sonia : Luz Beatriz Pizano

 


 

Le spectacle qui vous intéresse affiche complet ? Tentez votre chance à la porte ! Arrivez tôt. Si des billets réservés sont libérés à la dernière minute, c’est avec plaisir que nous les remettrons en vente.