Saturday,March 5, 20227 p.m.
Sunday,March 6, 20221:30 p.m.

Paul-Gérin-Lajoie-d’Outremont High School Auditorium
475 Bloomfield Avenue
Outremont (Québec) H2V 1Y8
SEE MAP

Photos

Show

Great Small Works (New York, USA)

greatsmallworks.org

All audiences, 13 years +

A: $35 R: $31,50 


A: adults (13 years +)
R: discount (AQM members, students, and seniors 65 +)
Taxes and ticket processing fee included.

🎟️  Tickets for March 5th at 7 p.m.

🎟️  Tickets for March 6th at 1:30 p.m.

The show you had in mind is sold out? Try your luck at the door!
Arrive early. If reserved tickets are cancelled at the last minute, we will gladly to put them up for sale.

 

In English and Yiddish
Some elements in French surtitles
French synopsis available

 

Muntergang and Other Cheerful Downfalls is a puppet show inspired by the life and work of Zuni Maud and Yosl Cutler, two talented and radical American book illustrators who came up with the idea of creating a Yiddish puppet theatre, the Modicut Puppet Theater, in 1925. They were an immediate success in New York’s Lower East Side, merging Jewish tradition, high art, and left-wing politics. Their hilarious plays were subsequently performed to sold-out audiences across the United States, Europe, and the Soviet Union. Using Maud and Cutler’s original images, songs, and scripts, this show is a meditation on their incisive satirical work and on historical models of robust embodied practices for changing social power relationships.

 

Running time: 75 minutes

Techniques: hand puppets, rod puppets, projections, panoramic scrolls, handmade lighting instruments, flat cut-outs, and live actors, with an original music score performed live.

Video

 

Company

Great Small Works is a collective of six theatre artists – all alumni of the Bread and puppet Theater – that was founded in 1995 to create original performances and to keep theatre at the heart of social life. Great Small Works productions seek to renew, cultivate, and strengthen the spirits of their audiences, promoting theatre as a model for participating in democracy. Drawing on puppet, avant-garde and popular theatre traditions, the company addresses contemporary issues in productions varying in scale from huge outdoor community pageants to miniature Toy Theatre shows in living rooms. The company is invited to major puppet festivals around the world to perform its shows and lead paper theatre workshops.

Credits

Story and set design: Great Small Works

Stage direction: Jenny Romaine in collaboration with GSM, and with the thoughts of many

Music: Ira Temple and Jessica Lurie

Lighting: Meredith Holch 

Technical director: Miguel Flores

Historical guide: Dr. Eddy Portnoy

Puppeteers: John Bell, Trudi Cohen, Jenny Romaine, Roberto Rossi, Joseph Therrien, and Sam Wilson

Musicians: Ira Temple and Aani Kisslinger

 

Great Small Works gratefully acknowledges support for this project from the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, the Jim Henson Foundation, the New York State Council on the Arts, the Scherman Foundation, the Doctorow Foundation, and the Mental Insight Foundation.

This engagement is supported by Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation through USArtists International in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

samedi5 mars 202219 h
dimanche6 mars 202213 h 30

Auditorium de l’école Paul-Gérin-Lajoie-d’Outremont
475, avenue Bloomfield
Montréal (Québec) H2V 3R9
VOIR CARTE

Photos

Spectacle

Great Small Works (New York, É.-U.)

greatsmallworks.org

Spectacle pour tout public, à partir de 13 ans

A: 35 $  R: 31,50 $  


A : adultes (13 ans et +)
R : réduction (membres AQM, étudiants, aînés 65 ans et +)
Taxes et frais de billetterie inclus

🎟️  Billets pour le 5 mars, 19 h

🎟️  Billets pour le 6 mars, 13 h 30

Le spectacle qui vous intéresse affiche complet? Tentez votre chance à la porte! Arrivez tôt.
Si des billets réservés sont libérés à la dernière minute, c’est avec plaisir que nous les remettront en vente.

 

En anglais et en yiddish
Surtitres en français pour certains éléments
Synopsis en français disponible

 

Muntergang and Other Cheerful Downfalls est un spectacle de marionnettes inspiré de la vie et de l’œuvre de Zuni Maud et Yosl Cutler, deux illustrateurs de livres américains talentueux et radicaux qui ont eu l’idée de créer en 1925 un théâtre de marionnettes yiddish, le Modicut Puppet Theater. Leur succès fut immédiat dans le Lower East Side de New York, fusionnant la tradition juive, le grand art et la politique de gauche. Leurs pièces hilarantes ont ensuite été jouées à guichets fermés à travers les États-Unis, en Europe et en Union soviétique. Ce spectacle qui utilise les images, les chansons et les scénarios originaux de Maud et Cutler, est une réflexion sur leur travail satirique incisif et sur les modèles de résistance qui peuvent transformer les relations de pouvoir dans la société. 

 

Durée : 75 minutes

Techniques : marionnettes à gaine et à tige, projections, défilements panoramiques, éclairage artisanaux, découpes en aplat, jeu d’acteurs et musique originale en direct.

 

Vidéo

 

Compagnie

Fondé en 1995, Great Small Works est un collectif de six artistes de théâtre – tous issus du Bread and Puppet Theater – mis sur pied afin de créer des spectacles originaux et maintenir le théâtre au cœur de la vie sociale.  Le collectif brandit le théâtre comme un modèle à suivre lorsqu’on souhaite développer, promouvoir ou consolider la démocratie. Puisant dans les traditions du théâtre de marionnettes, de l’avant-garde et du théâtre populaire, Great Small Works aborde les questions contemporaines dans des productions à échelle variable, allant d’immenses reconstitutions historiques en plein air à des spectacles miniatures en théâtre de papier. La compagnie est invitée dans les plus grands festivals de marionnettes à travers le monde pour présenter ses spectacles et offrir des formations en théâtre de papier.

Crédits

Texte et scénographie : Great Small Works

Mise en scène : Jenny Romaine, en collaboration avec GSM et avec les idées de plusieurs 

Musique : Ira Temple et Jessica Lurie

Éclairage : Meredith Holch 

Directeur technique : Miguel Flores

Guide historique : Dr. Eddy Portnoy

Marionnettistes : John Bell, Trudi Cohen, Jenny Romaine, Roberto Rossi, Joseph Therrien et Sam Wilson

Musiciens : Ira Temple et Aani Kisslinger

 

Great Small Works remercie le YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, la Jim Henson Foundation, le New York State Council on the Arts, la Scherman Foundation, la Doctorow Foundation et la Mental Insight Foundation.

Cette participation bénéficie du soutien de la Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation par l’intermédiaire de USArtists International, en partenariat avec la National Endowment for the Arts et la Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.