Saturday,March 5, 20229 p.m.

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30 Saint-Just Avenue
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

SEE MAP

Photos

Ciné-Casteliers

Basil Twist (New York, USA)

basiltwist.com

Feature film for adult and teen audiences, 13 years +

Single admission price: $15 

🎟️  Tickets for March 5th at 9 p.m.

The show you had in mind is sold out? Try your luck at the door!
Arrive early. If reserved tickets are cancelled at the last minute, we will gladly to put them up for sale.

 

Symphonie Fantastique is the film version of the ground-breaking show of the same name that revealed a truly unique artist with a limitless imagination when it opened in New York in 1998.

Symphonie Fantastique is a one-of-a-kind underwater marvel combining the magic of puppetry with the powerful suggestions of music, dance, and abstract art. Symphonie Fantastique is an intimate show set to the five movements of Hector Berlioz’s nineteenth-century classical composition of the same name.

Symphonie Fantastique is performed entirely in a specially constructed water tank. The puppeteers manipulate feathers, glitter, plastics, vinyl, mirrors, slides, dyes, black light, overhead projections, air bubbles, and latex fishing lures to deliver a concert of forms, shapes and moving colours.

The show was performed Off-Broadway to sell-out audiences for several months in 2018 to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of its original opening. The video footage was shot during this series of exceptional performances.

 

                  True Magic … it is like listening to music with your eyes.

                 – Ben Brantley, The New York Times

 

The film’s world premiere took place in 2019 at the Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes in Charleville-Mézières, France. This is Basil Twist’s first feature film.

 

Running time: 54 minutes

Release: 2019

 

Video

Company

Basil Twist is originally from San Francisco, though he has adopted New York as his home. A third-generation puppeteer, he is the only American to have graduated from the prestigious École supérieure nationale des arts de la marionnette in Charleville-Mézières, France.


Basil Twist’s aesthetic is like no other, and regardless of the types of puppets used or the scale of the shows, the establishment of a dialogue with music is always at the very heart of his approach.


He has taught at leading universities in the United States, including Princeton, Stanford, Duke, New York University Rhode Island School of Design, and Brown. His work has received a number of awards: Obie, Drama Desk Awards, UNIMA Awards, Bessie Awards, a New York Innovative Theatre Award, and a Henry Hewes Award. He has been honoured with a MacArthur, the “Rome Prize” from The American Academy in Rome, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. His productions have received valuable support from the Jim Henson Foundation.

 

Credits

Creator: Basil Twist

Pianist: Christopher O’Riley

Puppeteers: Kate Brehm, Ben Elling, Andy Gaukel, Jonothon Lyons, Rachel Shane, Lake Simons, and Patrick Newton

Lighting design: Andrew Hill

samedi5 mars 202221 h

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30, avenue Saint-Just
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

VOIR CARTE

Photos

Ciné-Casteliers

Basil Twist (New York, É.-U.)

basiltwist.com

Long métrage pour adultes et adolescents, à partir de 13 ans

Tarif unique:15 $ 

🎟️  Billets pour le 5 mars, 21 h

Le spectacle qui vous intéresse affiche complet? Tentez votre chance à la porte! Arrivez tôt.
Si des billets réservés sont libérés à la dernière minute, c’est avec plaisir que nous les remettront en vente.

 

Symphonie Fantastique est la version filmée du spectacle révolutionnaire du même nom qui a révélé un artiste singulier à l’imagination illimitée lors de sa première sur scène à New York en 1998.


Symphonie Fantastique
est une merveille aquatique qui combine la magie de la marionnette avec les puissantes évocations de la musique, de la danse et de l’art abstrait. Symphonie Fantastique se déploie au rythme des cinq mouvements de l’œuvre classique du même nom, écrite par Hector Berlioz au 19e siècle.

Symphonie Fantastique est entièrement jouée dans un réservoir d’eau fabriqué sur mesure. Les marionnettistes manipulent des plumes, des paillettes, du plastique, du vinyle, des miroirs, des diapositives, des pigments, des rétroprojections, des bulles d’air et des leurres de pêche pour offrir un concert de formes et de couleurs en mouvement.

Le spectacle a été rejoué à guichets fermés pendant plusieurs mois Off-Broadway en 2018 pour célébrer le 20e anniversaire de sa création. La captation a été effectuée lors de cette série de représentations exceptionnelles. 

 

                C’est magique… C’est comme écouter de la musique avec ses yeux.

                 – Ben Brantley, The New York Times

 

La première mondiale du film a eu lieu en 2019 au Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes à Charleville-Mézières, en France. Il s’agit du premier long métrage de Basil Twist.

 

Durée : 54 minutes

Sortie : 2019

 

Vidéo

 

Compagnie

Basil Twist est originaire de San Francisco, mais sa ville d’adoption est New York. Marionnettiste de troisième génération, il est le seul Étasunien diplômé de la prestigieuse École supérieure nationale des arts de la marionnette de Charleville-Mézières, en France. 


L’esthétique de Basil Twist est pareille à nulle autre et quels que soient les types de marionnettes utilisés ou la taille des spectacles, la construction d’un dialogue avec la musique en forme toujours le cœur. 


Basil Twist a enseigné dans de grandes universités aux États-Unis, notamment à Princeton, Stanford, Duke, New York University, Rhode Island School of Design, et Brown. Marionnettiste d’exception, il a reçu des très nombreux prix et bourses : Obie, Drama Desk, Doris Duke, UNIMA, Bessie, New York Innovative Theater, Henry Hewes, MacArthur, Prix de Rome américain et bourse Guggenheim. Ses productions ont aussi reçu le précieux soutien de la Fondation Jim Henson.

 

Crédits

Création : Basil Twist

Pianiste : Christopher O’Riley

Marionnettistes : Kate Brehm, Ben Elling, Andy Gaukel, Jonothon Lyons, Rachel Shane, Lake Simons et Patrick Newton

Conception des éclairages : Andrew Hill