Friday,March 4, 20229 p.m.

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30 Saint-Just Avenue
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

SEE MAP

Photos

Ciné-Casteliers

Festival Stop Motion Montréal (Montréal)

www.stopmotionmontreal.com/

Adult and teen audiences, 13 years +

Single admission price: $15 

🎟️  Tickets for March 4th at 9 p.m.

The show you had in mind is sold out? Try your luck at the door!
Arrive early. If reserved tickets are cancelled at the last minute, we will gladly to put them up for sale.

 

Selection of short films without words, in English, French, Inuktitut, or Spanish (with English or French subtitles)

 

Festival Stop Motion Montréal is delighted to showcase a selection of stop motion films by emerging and established independent filmmakers from Canada, the United States and Mexico. Sample the rich flavours of the North American continent through these works that explore history, tradition, and social criticism.

 

Running time: 55 minutes

 

SELECTED FILMS:

 

Angakusajaujuq: Shaman Apprentice – Zacharias Kunuk (Igloolik, Nunavut, Canada 2021)

Animated adaptation of a traditional Inuit story from the North Baffin region. A young shaman must face her first test: a trip underground to visit Kannaaluk, The One Below, who holds the answers to why a community member has become ill. Facing dark spirits and physical challenges, she must trust her mentor’s teachings and learn to control her fear.

Zacharias Kunuk’s film is among 15 semi-finalists for an 2022 Oscar in the Animated Short Film category.

It has been nominated for a 2022 Canadian Screen Award in the Animated Short Film category.

 

Quick Fix – Alexandra Lemay (Montréal 2020)

Quick Fix is a stop-motion/live-action hybrid that explores the comedic parallels between our throwaway habits and serial dating. This bittersweet love affair follows a coffee cup who becomes smitten by his drinker, only to realize she may not be as loyal as he assumed.

 

The Girl with the Rivet Gun – Anne de Marre, Danielle Ash and Kirsten Kelly (USA 2020)

An unconventional animated documentary short based on the adventures of three real-life “Rosie the Riveters” from WWII-Esther Horne, Susan Taylor King and Mildred Crow Sargent. These three women came of age in a country united by war but struggling with divisions of gender, economics, and race.

 

Tio – Juan Medina (Mexico 2021)

Martín is a cocky teenager who, on his first day of work in the mines, meets Old Andrés. The elder explains the importance of ancestral rituals and teaches the boy about respect towards Tío, the demon god who guards the mines. Martín’s insolence and disbelief in front of Tío provoke grave consequences. The presentation of this film has been made possible thanks to IMCINE collaboration.

 

Cat Calls – Anna Berezowsky and Laura Stewart (Montréal 2020)

Catcalls explore street harassment using cats, dogs, and real sentences that humans say to other humans.

Company

Founded in 2009, Festival Stop Motion Montréal (FSMM) is the world’s first festival dedicated to showcasing films animated exclusively using stop motion techniques. FSMM aims to foster the development of this amazing technique that creates the illusion of movement with objects or figurines that would otherwise be inanimate. In a digital revolution age, stop motion is experiencing a resurgence. The technique brings back hand made cinema, the texture of tangible materials, and the fantasy world made possible by stop motion animation.

vendredi4 mars 202221 h

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30, avenue Saint-Just
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

VOIR CARTE

Photos

Ciné-Casteliers

Festival Stop Motion Montréal (Montréal)

www.stopmotionmontreal.com/

Pour adultes et adolescents, à partir de 13 ans

Tarif unique:15 $ 

🎟️  Billets pour le 4 mars, 21 h

Le spectacle qui vous intéresse affiche complet? Tentez votre chance à la porte! Arrivez tôt.
Si des billets réservés sont libérés à la dernière minute, c’est avec plaisir que nous les remettront en vente.

 

Courts métrages sans paroles, en français, en anglais, en inuktitut ou en espagnol (avec sous-titres anglais ou français)

 

Festival Stop Motion Montréal est heureux de proposer une sélection de films réalisés par des cinéastes indépendants émergents ou établis en provenance du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique. Goûtez les riches saveurs du continent nord-américain au travers de ces œuvres évoquant histoire, traditions et critiques sociales.

 

Durée : 55 minutes

 

COURTS MÉTRAGES PRÉSENTÉS :

Angakusajaujuq : Shaman Apprentice – Zacharias Kunuk (Igloolik, Nunavut, Canada 2021)

Une adaptation animée d’un conte traditionnel inuit de la région de Baffin du Nord. Une jeune chamane doit faire face à son premier test : un voyage souterrain pour rendre visite à Kannaaluk, l’Homme-d’en-Bas, qui détient les raisons pour lesquelles un membre de la communauté est tombé malade. Face aux esprits malins et aux défis physiques, elle devra faire confiance aux enseignements de son mentor et apprendre à contrôler sa peur.

Ce film de Zacharias Kunuk figure sur la liste des 15 demi-finalistes pour l’Oscar du meilleur court métrage d’animation en 2022.

Ce film de Zacharias Kunuk figure sur la liste des finalistes pour le Prix Écrans canadiens 2022 dans la catégorie meilleur court métrage d’animation.

 

Quick Fix – Alexandra Lemay (Montréal 2020)

Quick Fix est un film hybride (stop motion/prises de vues réelles) qui explore les parallèles comiques entre nos habitudes de surconsommation et le fait d’enchainer les relations. Cette histoire d’amour-amer suit un verre de café qui tombe sous le charme de son buveur, pour se rendre compte qu’elle n’est peut-être pas aussi loyale qu’il le croyait.

 

The Girl with the Rivet Gun – Anne de Marre, Danielle Ash et Kirsten Kelly (États-Unis 2020)

Un court-métrage non conventionnel basé sur les aventures de trois « Rosie the Riveters » de la Seconde Guerre mondiale – Esther Horne, Susan Taylor King et Mildred Crow Sargent. Ces trois femmes ont atteint la majorité dans un pays uni par la guerre, mais divisé par les inégalités de genre, de classe économique et de race.

 

Tio – Juan Medina (Mexique 2021)

Martín est un adolescent arrogant qui, lors de son premier jour de travail dans les mines, rencontre le Vieil Andrés. Celui-ci lui explique l’importance des rituels ancestraux et le respect qu’il doit avoir pour l’Oncle (Tío), le dieu démon qui garde les mines. L’insolence et l’incrédulité de Martín devant l’Oncle provoquent la colère du gardien des mines et de graves conséquences. ‘La présentation de ce film est rendue possible grâce à la participation de l’IMCINE.

 

Cat Calls – Anna Berezowsky et Laura Stewart (Montréal 2020)

Catcalls explore le harcèlement de rue utilisant des chats, des chiens et de vraies phrases que des humains ont dites à d’autres humains.

Compagnie

Conçu en 2009, le Festival Stop Motion Montréal est le premier festival au monde consacré à la diffusion d’œuvres cinématographiques créées exclusivement grâce à l’animation en volume. Le Festival s’emploie à promouvoir cette technique étonnante qui permet de créer l’illusion du mouvement à l’aide d’objets ou de personnages qui seraient autrement inanimés. À l’ère de la révolution numérique, le stop motion regagne en popularité. Il nous ramène le cinéma fait main, la texture des matériaux réels et la fantaisie rendue possible par l’animation image par image.