Thursday,March 3, 202211 a.m.
Thursday,March 3, 20223 p.m.
Friday,March 4, 202211 a.m.

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30 Saint-Just Avenue
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

SEE MAP

Photos

Show

Mi'ño Teatro de Sombras (Mexique)

www.facebook.com/diego.ugalde.794

All audiences, 6 years +

A: $23 E: $17 R: $20,50 


A: adults (13 years +)
E: children (12 and under)
R: discount (AQM members, students, and seniors 65 +)
Taxes and ticket processing fee included.

🎟️  Tickets for March 3rd at 11 a.m.

🎟️  Tickets for March 3rd at 3 p.m.

🎟️  Tickets for March 4th at 11 a.m.

The show you had in mind is sold out? Try your luck at the door!
Arrive early. If reserved tickets are cancelled at the last minute, we will gladly to put them up for sale.

 

Presented by

 

In English and indigenous languages, Thursday, March 3 at 11 a.m.

In French and indigenous languages, Thursday, March 3 at 3 p.m. and Friday, March 4 at 11 a.m.

 

WORLD PREMIERE

 

The Biggest Sister in the World is a shadow theatre show performed in indigenous languages about the sacred presence of corn on our continent. Developed through cultural exchanges between Ñäñho and Kanien’kehá:ka nations, the show uses traditional Turkish shadow theatre techniques to tell the story of Däxi, a young ñäñho girl who discovers that all the corn has disappeared from her village. She decides to embark on a great adventure where she will discover the ancient bonds that corn has forged between indigenous peoples. 

 

Running time: 65 minutes

Technique: shadow theatre

Company

Diego Ugalde is a puppeteer specializing in traditional shadow theatre. He studied with great masters in Athens, Istanbul, Damascus, Cairo, and India. Upon his return to Mexico, he created shows that combine traditional techniques and contemporary writing. He usually works with large teams of creators. The Biggest Sister in the World is his first solo piece. In parallel to his ongoing research into ancient shadow puppetry techniques and contemporary theatre, he established the Mi’ño Teatro de Sombras (mi’ño means coyote in the Hñäñho language) to further explore the possibilities of the solo puppet performance.

Credits

Story and puppets: Diego Ugalde de Haene

Reaserch assistance on maize: Iakwahwatsiratátie Language Nest Kahnawà:ke, Stephen Silver Bear McComber (Kahnawà:ke), and Comité Comunitario de la Feria del Maíz de San Miguel Tlaxcaltepec

Scenography: Jésus Noyola and Ángel Ortiz

Music: Fernando Corona

Lighting: Diego Ugalde and Jésus Noyola

Performance: Diego Ugalde de Haene

 

This show was created though the Québec-Mexico Working Group with the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, and with support from the Conseil des arts de Montréal. It was also created with support and guidance from Stephen Silverbear McComber, seed keeper in Kahnawà:ke, and the Iakwahwatsiratátie Language Nest in Kahnawà:ke, as well as with support from the ñäñho communities of Santiago Mexquititlan, San Ildefonso Tultepec, San Miguel Tlaxcaltepec in Amealco, Queretaro and Mexico.

Mi’ño Teatro de Sombras gratefully acknowledges the Programa de Creadores Escénicos / Sistema de Apoyos a la Creación – Fondo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes (FONCA), the Consejo Comunitario – Feria del Maíz de San Miguel Tlaxcaltepec, Luna Morena (Mexico), and the Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette (MIAM) staff for their support.

jeudi3 mars 202211 h
jeudi3 mars 202215 h
vendredi4 mars 202211 h

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30, avenue Saint-Just
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

VOIR CARTE

Photos

Spectacle

Mi'ño Teatro de Sombras (Mexique)

www.facebook.com/diego.ugalde.794

Spectacle tout public, à partir de 6 ans

🎟️  Billets pour le 3 mars, 11 h

🎟️  Billets pour le 3 mars, 15 h

🎟️  Billets pour le 4 mars, 11 h

Le spectacle qui vous intéresse affiche complet? Tentez votre chance à la porte! Arrivez tôt.
Si des billets réservés sont libérés à la dernière minute, c’est avec plaisir que nous les remettront en vente.

 

Présenté par

 

En anglais et langues autochtones le jeudi 3 mars à 11 h

En français et langues autochtones le jeudi 3 mars à 15 h et le vendredi 4 mars à 11 h

 

GRANDE PREMIÈRE

 

La Sœur la plus grande du monde est un spectacle de théâtre d’ombres en langues autochtones autour de la présence sacrée du maïs sur notre continent. Créé à partir des échanges culturels entre les nations Ñäñho et Kanien’kehá:ka, le spectacle utilise la technique du théâtre d’ombres traditionnel turque pour raconter l’histoire de Däxi, une jeune fille ñäñho qui découvre que tout le maïs est disparu de son village. Elle décide de partir dans une grande aventure où elle découvrira les liens anciens que le maïs a formés entre les peuples autochtones. 

 

Durée : 65 minutes

Technique : théâtre d’ombres

Compagnie

Diego Ugalde est marionnettiste, spécialisé en théâtre d’ombres traditionnel. Il a fait des études avec de grands maîtres à Athènes, Istanbul, Damas, au Caire et en Inde. À son retour au Mexique, il a créé des spectacles mariant les techniques traditionnelles et les écritures contemporaines. Travaillant habituellement avec de grandes équipes de créateurs, La sœur la plus grande du monde est son premier spectacle solo. Poursuivant ses recherches sur les techniques ancestrales de marionnettes d’ombres et le théâtre contemporain, il a créé la compagnie Mi’ño (coyote en langue hñäñho) pour explorer les possibilités du marionnettiste soliste.

 

Crédits

 

Texte et marionnettes : Diego Ugalde de Haene

Aide a la recherche sur la culture du maïs : Iakwahwatsiratátie Language Nest Kahnawà:ke, Stephen Silver Bear McComber (Kahnawà:ke) et Comité Comunitario de la Feria del Maíz de San Miguel Tlaxcaltepec

Scénographie : Jésus Noyola et Ángel Ortiz

Musique : Fernando Corona

Éclairage : Diego Ugalde et Jésus Noyola

Interprète : Diego Ugalde de Haene

 

Ce spectacle a été créé dans le cadre du Groupe de travail Québec-Mexique avec le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, et avec le soutien du Conseil des arts de Montréal. Ce spectacle a aussi été créé avec l’appui et les conseils de Stephen Silverbear McComber, gardien des semences à Kahnawà:ke et le Iakwahwatsiratátie Language Nest à Kahnawà:ke, ainsi qu’avec l’appui des communautés ñäñho de Santiago Mexquititlan, San Ildefonso Tultepec, San Miguel Tlaxcaltepec à Amealco, Queretaro (Mexique).

Mi’ño Teatro de Sombras remercie le Programa de Creadores Escénicos / Sistema de Apoyos a la Creación de la Fondo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes (FONCA), le Consejo Comunitario de la Feria del Maíz de San Miguel Tlaxcaltepec, Luna Morena au Mexique et l’équipe de la Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette (MIAM).