Monday,March 4, 20194 p.m.
Monday,March 4, 20197:30 p.m.

Théâtre Outremont
1248 Bernard Avenue West
Montréal (Québec) H2V 2V6
Phone: 514-495-9944, ext. #1
See the map

Maria Boldor (Romania)

Single admission price: $9 

Buy tickets online
OR at the Theatre Outremont Box Office

Animated short film, 2015, 7 minutes. Without words.

Presented before the Ciné-Outremont screening on March 4

Littlemary is a stop-motion animation about a string marionette in search of “The Old Puppets”. The main character, Littlemary, sneaks under the theatre curtain and onto the stage, and realizes that she is among the very puppets she has been searching for. Littlemary walks into various scenes of The Old Puppet Show and meets the many colourful characters. In the end, she comes to understand that she is different and a bit out of place, and wakes up to the realization that it was all a puppet dream.

The story of how the animation was created began when I found, in my home, an old piece of newspaper with the headline 70-YEAR-OLD PUPPETS. At the bottom of the page, there I was, next to my father: a little girl holding a puppet. This reminded me of my childhood, when I went to see puppet shows every weekend. After a while I saw so many plays that I knew all the lines and noticed every improvisation. When I was a little girl, my father had some little, old puppets and small theatre sets, carefully stored in the closet, with which I couldn’t play. These were his toys!

Today, I understand that these toys are 90-year-old puppets (approx.), a family heirloom and tangible proof of the first Romanian puppet shows. Having this in mind and in the memory of my ancestors, I created this animation. As a playful little girl, I was hoping to sneak into my father’s closet and play with those puppets, just like Littlemary tries to sneak into The Old Puppet Show.”

– Maria Boldor

THE COMPANY

Maria Boldor holds master’s degree from the graphic design department at the Art and Design University in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. She is currently working as a graphic designer at HOLA Media in Cluj-Napoca.

CREDITS

Year: 2015
Animation Concept, Scenario, Script and Direction:
Maria Boldor
Music: Liviu Ciprian Szasz
Technical Assistants: Lucian Boldor, Angela Boldor and Dacian Boldor (Maria’s family)

The puppets in this animated short film are part of the Şesan family collection featured in the A Story with Marionettes – The Șesan Family Collection exhibition on display at the Paul-Gérin-Lajoie d’Outremont High School gymnasium. This exhibition marks the 90th anniversary of the founding of UNIMA, the international association of puppeteers, in Prague in 1929.

lundi4 mars 201916 h
lundi4 mars 201919 h 30

Théâtre Outremont
1248, avenue Bernard Ouest
Montréal (Québec) H2V 2V6
Téléphone : 514-495-9944 #1
Voir la carte

Maria Boldor (Roumanie)

Tarif unique: 9 $  

Achetez les billets en ligne
OU à la billetterie du Théâtre Outremont

Court-métrage d’animation, 2015, 7 minutes. Sans paroles.

Présenté en première partie du Ciné-Outremont du 4 mars

Littlemary est un court-métrage d’animation en stop-motion qui raconte l’histoire d’une marionnette à fils à la recherche des « Vieilles marionnettes ». Le personnage principal, Littlemary, se faufile sous le rideau de théâtre, monte sur la scène et réalise qu’elle est parmi les marionnettes qu’elle cherche. Littlemary entre dans diverses scènes du spectacle et rencontre de nombreux personnages hauts en couleur. Au final, elle comprend qu’elle est différente, voire pas tout à fait à sa place, et se rend compte qu’il ne s’agissait que d’un rêve marionnettique.

L’histoire de la création de cette animation a commencé lorsque j’ai trouvé, chez moi, un vieux journal avec le titre MARIONNETTES DE 70 ANS. Au bas de la page, je me trouvais à côté de mon père: une petite fille tenant une marionnette. Cela m’a rappelé mon enfance, quand j’allais voir des spectacles de marionnettes toutes les fins de semaines. Avec le temps, j’avais vu tellement de pièces que je connaissais toutes les répliques et je pouvais remarquer toutes les improvisations. Quand j’étais petite fille, mon père avait quelques petites marionnettes et de nombreux décors de théâtre, soigneusement rangés dans le placard, avec lesquels je ne pouvais pas jouer. C’étaient ses jouets!

Aujourd’hui, je comprends que ces jouets sont des marionnettes âgées d’environ 90 ans, un héritage familial et une preuve physique des premiers spectacles de marionnettes roumains. En m’inspirant de cet héritage, et à la mémoire de mes ancêtres, j’ai réalisé cette animation. Petite fille enjouée, j’espérais pouvoir me glisser dans le placard de mon père et m’amuser avec ces marionnettes, tout comme Littlemary essaie de se faufiler dans le spectacle des Vieilles Marionnettes.

– Maria Boldor

LA COMPAGNIE

Maria Boldor est titulaire d’une maîtrise au Département de graphisme de l’Université d’art et de design de Cluj-Napoca, en Roumanie. Elle travaille actuellement en tant que graphiste chez HOLA Media à Cluj-Napoca.

CRÉDITS

Année: 2015
Conception de l’animation, scénario, texte et réalisation: Maria Boldor
Musique: Liviu Ciprian Szasz
Assistants techniques: Lucian Boldor, Angela Boldor et Dacian Boldor (la famille de Maria)

Les marionnettes présentées dans ce court métrage font partie de la collection de la famille Șesan présentée dans l’exposition Une histoire de marionnettes – Collection de la famille Șesan, au gymnase de l’École Paul-Gérin-Lajoie-d’Outremont pour souligne le 90e anniversaire de la fondation de l’UNIMA (Union internationale de la marionnette) à Prague en 1929.